Hey Lou Writes

The Grey Matters

How I Manage to Cope (A Poem)

Leave a comment

How I Manage to Cope

I don’t expect the worst

I expect goodness & for others to tell the truth

When they don’t

I haven’t now experienced it twice

Thank goodness (I am an optimist)

I find silver linings

Or gold ones or pink – which is my favorite color

When the bads outweigh the goods

I etch it into my story

Thank goodness (I am privileged)

I’m told someday I won’t have the ability to see you

I take time to look at

Every landscape in your face, universe in your eye

I burn this into my memory

Thank goodness (I was warned)

I’m told my chances are low

Of receiving the magic gift of creation

I try and try and try and try and try some more

I didn’t let it ruin my life, either

Thank goodness (I removed the prefix “in”)

I wake up and reach my hand – which I always do

And find your warm body there, still

I make the most of it, as this is a rare occurrence

I revel in the surprise

Thank goodness (I’m not always alone)

Author: Melinda Haas

Melinda is a writer, blogger, artist and teacher. She lives in Wisconsin with her family.

Tell Lou What YOU Think!